Santa Cruz County Planning Commission

Planning Commission Meetings

Public Participation

  • Please check the meeting agenda to learn the details about how to participate in the commission meeting. 
  • If you need special accommodations, please call (831) 454-3137 at least 5 days before the meeting.
  • If you are having problems connecting to a Planning Commission meeting, please email support staff for assistance at Nicholas.Brown@santacruzcountyca.gov.


  • Meetings are scheduled for the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 9:30 a.m.
  • The Commission may call for special public meetings in order to conduct timely Commission business.
  • Meetings may be attended in-person or remotely. 
  • In-person meetings are held in the Board of Supervisors Chambers, Room 525, County Government Center, 701 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz. 
  • To attend remotely, use this Zoom link on the appropriate day and time: https://santacruzcounty-us.zoomgov.com/j/1606588374

About the Planning Commission

The functions of the Planning Commission include the following:

  • Develop and maintain a general plan;
  • Develop such specific plans as may be necessary or desirable;
  • Review the annual Planning Division work program and make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors;
  • Periodically review the county capital improvement program for consistency with the general plan and related elements;
  • Develop and maintain, with staff, a Commission policy manual;
  • Communicate with other county advisory bodies concerned with planning matters;
  • Exercise any other responsibilities which may be set forth in the Commission's bylaws approved by the Board of Supervisors.

In addition to these functions, the Planning Commission has been designated by the County Code as the Approving Body for a number of different types of Development Permits and Land Divisions. The Commission's permit approval authority includes:

  • Permanent Room Housing
  • Community Centers/Lodges greater than 10,000 square feet
  • Organized Camps
  • Medium/Large Wineries
  • All land divisions greater than 15 lots
  • Commercial uses greater than 50,000 square feet
  • Cannabis Cultivation, Distribution, and Manufacturing uses greater than 20,000 square feet
  • All Parks, Golf Courses, and Recreational Clubs
  • All Mining Permits
  • Large Grading Projects

All appeals filed from actions of the Zoning Administrator

In addition, the Planning Commission makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on all projects that require final Board approval. These include all proposals to rezone land or to amend the General Plan/Local Coastal Program, Planned Unit Developments, and Specific Plans.

All actions of the Planning Commission are appealable to the Board of Supervisors as described in Chapter 18.10 of the County Code.

For more information on Santa Cruz County Commissions, Committees, and Advisory Bodies, click here.

Planning Commission Members

District 1

Tim Gordin (Vice Chair): tim@workbenchbuilt.com

(No Alternate- in progress)

District 2

Allyson Violante (Chair): Allyson.Violante@santacruzcountyca.gov

Tricia Wynne (Alternate): triciawynne1@gmail.com

District 3

Trina Barton: Trina.Barton@santacruzcountyca.gov

Denise Holbert (Alternate): deniseholbert@comcast.net

District 4

Yesenia Jimenez: yeseniajduran@gmail.com

Alicia Danna (Alternate): adanna@baileyproperties.com

District 5

Renee Shepherd: renee@reneesgarden.com

Rick Jones (Alternate): coastcounties@sbcglobal.net